The ABA is pleased to announce that the ABA Nielsen 2019 Booksellers Choice Award winner is Boy Swallows Universe by Trent Dalton (HarperCollins Australia).

This award recognises the Australian new release that booksellers most enjoyed reading, marketing and handselling during the previous year.

We believe it is a special award, because it is decided by the people who care enough to personally recommend and put a book in the hands of the reading public. This award is proudly supported on the membership's behalf by Nielsen BookData and the ABA 

2018 Winner: Nevermoor, Jessica Townsend (Hachette)
2017 Winner: The Birdman's Wife, Melissa Ashley (Affirm Press)
2016 Winner: Reckoning: A Memoir, Magda Szubanski (Text Publishing)
2015 Winner: The 52-Storey Treehouse, Andy Griffiths & Terry Denton (Pan Macmillan)
2014 Winner: Burial Rites, Hannah Kent (Hachette)
2013 Winner
The Light Between Oceans, M.L. Stedman (Random House)
2012 Winner All that I Am, Anna Funder, (Text Publishing)
2011 Winner The Happiest Refugee, Anh Doh (Allen & Unwin)
2010 Winner The Kichen Garden, Stephanie Alexander (Lantern)
2009 Winner The Slap, Christos Tsiolkas (Allen & Unwin)
2008 Winner Girl Stuff, Kaz Cooke (Penguin Australia)
2007 Winner Salvation Creek, Susan Duncan (Random House Australia)
2006 Winner The Secret River, Kate Grenville (Text)
2004 Winner Joe Cinque's Consolation, Helen Garner (Picador)
2003 Joint Winners Mao's Last Dancer, Li Cunxin | Death Sentence, Don Watson
2002 Winner Diary of a Wombat, Jackie French & Bruce Whatley
2001 Winner Dirt Music, Tim Winton (Picador)
2000 Winner The Blue Day Book, Bradley Trevor Greive
1999 Winner Stravinsky's Lunch, Drusilla Modjeska
1998 Winner The Sound of One Hand Clapping, Richard Flanagan
1997 Winner Burning for Revenge, John Marsden
1996 Joint Winners Night Letters, Robert Dessaix | The Cook's Companion, Stephanie Alexander
1995 Winner The First Stone, Helen Garner
1994 Winner The Orchard, Drusilla Modjeska