Awards information

Literary awards calendar

Literary award bodies across Australia have worked together to create a literary event calendar.

Click on awards calendar to download a copy.

The ABA Nielsen BookData Booksellers' Choice Award

 The ABA is pleased to announce that the ABA Nielsen 2019 Booksellers Choice Award winner is Boy Swallows Universe by Trent Dalton (HarperCollins Australia).

This award recognises the Australian new release that booksellers most enjoyed reading, marketing and handselling during the previous year.

We believe it is a special award, because it is decided by the people who care enough to personally recommend and put a book in the hands of the reading public. This award is proudly supported on the membership's behalf by Nielsen BookData and the ABA 

ABA Text Publishing Bookseller of the Year Award

The winner of the 2019 ABA Text Publishing Bookseller of the Year is Suzie Bull, Farrell's Bookshop.

This award recognises an individual bookseller for their outstanding achievement in the previous twelve months. Nominees must have worked as a bookseller for at least five years.

ABA Elizabeth Riley Scholarship for Children's Bookselling

The 2019 recipient of the Elizabeth Riley Scholarship is Ella Sharpe, The Younger Sun Bookshop.

This award honours a much loved bookseller, publisher and ABA staff member who passed away in 2011. It recognises Elizabeth's great passion for children's books, most notably the craft of engaging with and selling children's books.

ABA Penguin Random House Young Bookseller of the Year

The 2019 winner of the ABA Random House Young Bookseller of the Year is Aisling Lawless, Dymocks Joondalup.  

This award recognises the excellence of a bookseller 35 or under, and promotes bookselling as a career choice for young people. Nominees must have worked as booksellers for at least two years.