The Booksellers' Choice 2020 Book of the Year Awards recognises the books that booksellers most enjoyed reading and handselling during 2019.

We believe this is a special award because it is decided by the people who personally recommend and care enough to put a book in the hands of the reading public.

The ABA Nielsen Adult Fiction Book of the Year 2020 joint winners are:

There Was Still Love by Favel Parrett (Hachette Australia)
The Yield by Tara June Winch (Hamish Hamilton/PRH)

The ABA Booksellers’ Choice Adult Non-Fiction Book of the Year 2020 is:

See What You Made Me Do by Jess Hill (Black Inc.)

The Kids’ Reading Guide Children's Book of the Year Award 2020 is:

Young Dark Emu: A Truer History by Bruce Pascoe (Magabala Books)

Visit the conference website to see the video of the authors.

2019 Winner: Boy Swallows Universe by Trent Dalton (HarperCollins Australia)
2018 Winner: Nevermoor, Jessica Townsend (Hachette)
2017 Winner: The Birdman's Wife, Melissa Ashley (Affirm Press)
2016 Winner: Reckoning: A Memoir, Magda Szubanski (Text Publishing)
2015 Winner: The 52-Storey Treehouse, Andy Griffiths & Terry Denton (Pan Macmillan)
2014 Winner: Burial Rites, Hannah Kent (Hachette)
2013 Winner
The Light Between Oceans, M.L. Stedman (Random House)
2012 Winner All that I Am, Anna Funder, (Text Publishing)
2011 Winner The Happiest Refugee, Anh Doh (Allen & Unwin)
2010 Winner The Kichen Garden, Stephanie Alexander (Lantern)
2009 Winner The Slap, Christos Tsiolkas (Allen & Unwin)
2008 Winner Girl Stuff, Kaz Cooke (Penguin Australia)
2007 Winner Salvation Creek, Susan Duncan (Random House Australia)
2006 Winner The Secret River, Kate Grenville (Text)
2004 Winner Joe Cinque's Consolation, Helen Garner (Picador)
2003 Joint Winners Mao's Last Dancer, Li Cunxin | Death Sentence, Don Watson
2002 Winner Diary of a Wombat, Jackie French & Bruce Whatley
2001 Winner Dirt Music, Tim Winton (Picador)
2000 Winner The Blue Day Book, Bradley Trevor Greive
1999 Winner Stravinsky's Lunch, Drusilla Modjeska
1998 Winner The Sound of One Hand Clapping, Richard Flanagan
1997 Winner Burning for Revenge, John Marsden
1996 Joint Winners Night Letters, Robert Dessaix | The Cook's Companion, Stephanie Alexander
1995 Winner The First Stone, Helen Garner
1994 Winner The Orchard, Drusilla Modjeska