The 2018 recipient of the Elizabeth Riley Fellowship is Sarah Rakich, Beaufort Street Books.

This award honours a much loved bookseller, publisher and ABA staff member who passed away in 2011. It recognises Elizabeth's great passion for children's books, most notably the craft of engaging with and selling children's books.


The applicant must be a children's bookseller employed by an ABA member bookshop. They must indicate a children's project, course, conference or workshop either domestically or internationally that they would like to attend in an effort to further their knowledge or develop their skills in the area of children's books and bookselling. The $1500 stipend will go toward registration, fees or any other relevant cost in attending and participating and must be used within 12 months, or by negotiation.

2018 Recipient: Sarah Rakich

2017 Recipient: Athina Clark, Readings

2016 Recipient: Robyn Huppert, Australian Booksellers Association 

2015 Recipient: Pauline Macleod, Children's Manager at Riverbend Books

2014 Recipient: Julie Melville, Library Shop, State Library of Queensland
2013 Recipient Lynndy Bennett, Gleebooks NSW
2012 Recipient Amelia Lush, Better Read Than Dead


© 2014 Australian Booksellers Association Inc.
Unit 9, 828 High Street
Kew East VIC 3102
Phone: 03 9859 7322
Fax: 03 9859 7344
ABN: 56 365 379 358